New Year’s Resolution

You probably won’t hear a lot from me between now and the new year.  The holidays get a little nuts when you have little ones running around.  Things that used to take a few hours, now span days.

Ordinarily, I don’t really bother with New Year’s resolutions.  Most are silly, and I generally don’t have time for any major changes to my life right now.  I have a lot waiting for me on the other side of January 1st as it is.

However, I have stumbled across a few new blogs that I am absolutely in love with, and I have found myself inspired to participate in a sort of blog project.  I haven’t done a full year BP since the PBP a couple of years back.

I found Far North Family at the tail end of a blog project called “Photos of my kids. Once a Week.  Every Week.”  I love this idea.  My camera will be back from Nikon in a few short weeks all repaired and sparkly.  Hopefully in time for the new year, but I can start even without my beloved DSLR.

In my usual style, of course, I can’t follow the rules as set out.  I must put my own spin on it.  So, beginning in January, I will begin a similar photo project that I have dubbed 52 Weeks of Calgary.  Every week I will post 3 or 4 photos of my life here in Calgary.  Some will be of my kids, but I want to also take this opportunity to find the beauty of this place.  I think that this will help me through the long winter ahead.

Snow rail

If I can find something lovely about my neighbourhood or the city in general every week, I think it will help keep the homesickness at bay.  Especially when spring comes to BC and forgets about Alberta.

So, if I don’t manage another post between now and the new year, happy holidays everyone.  I hope that whichever holy days you celebrate bring you much joy.

Enhanced by Zemanta

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution”

  1. The holidays get crazy here, too. I’m so depressed but need to snap out of it because I am the mother of a 6 year old Holiday Martha Stewart. Thanks for the links. I’m trying to find new blogs.

    1. One blog that I find helps me to keep things in perspective is called Calm Things (calmthings.blogspot.com). I love her photos and the related poetry.

  2. Pingback: My Top Weightloss

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.